..::Reflection on a Portrait::..

One last time I stood in front of you expectant. Times before I had been in the same situation, and this one was not different, for the unrelenting fire in me still burned as fiery as the first day. My feelings for you, indestructible to the test of time, moved my soul in the rhythm of a song still unwritten. I became a part of you, the same way that you became my existence. Still I couldn’t help but wonder what had happened, if you still felt the same way. Doubts clouded my mind and as a quivering animal I looked at your image, getting lost in your eyes, closely inspecting every corner of your face amazed at it’s perfection. I moved closer and one last time I kissed you. Cold was all that met my lips as the glass made contact, for a photograph was the only thing I had left of you. For one last time I stood in front of you, only to say farewell.

© 2011 Yamil Sárraga

P.S. Found this I wrote a long time ago on an old hard drive and decided to post it. Hope everyone likes it!

2 Responses to “..::Reflection on a Portrait::..”

  1. Hi Yamil,

    I like the contrast between the fire burning and the cold of the glass and how you take the reader in a voyage through your feelings to encounter at the end a final resoluti

Leave a Reply

